Following the release of the first volume of the Koto: Tapestry series, Cinedelic completes the series of three with the release of the remaining two valuable albums. Tapestry: Koto is a three-album series produced by Nippon Columbia in the mid-1970s dedicated to one of the main instruments of Japanese traditional music: the koto. The beauty of the trilogy curated by composer Kiyoshi Yamaya, whose chapters are respectively dedicated to sea, hillside and country, lies in the fact that they are a modern translation of tradition using newer and more avant-garde sound idioms, integrating the koto with jazz musicians. An original mix, a "crossover" that allows for the awakening and the consequential spread of traditional music in larger contexts. The extreme accuracy of the marvelous recordings is also remarkable. The performers on this fabulous album are: Toshiko Yonekawa who learned to play the koto at an early age, performing in a public concert as early at eight years old. For three years, from 1941 to 1944, she won prizes as the best performer in the Japanese Cultural Federation's competition for traditional trios. She also received an award from the Prime Minister. Many other important recognitions followed until she became president of the Reichokai and executive director of the Sankyoku Association. In 1996, she was appointed Living National Treasure. As a koto player, her best-known characteristics are her extreme precision of intonation and rhythm and the unparalleled beauty of her sound. Kiyoshi Yamaya was born in 1932 and attended the Kunitachi College of Music. Between 1956 and 1960, he performed with Nobuo Hara and His Sharps & Flats (clarinet, saxophone, etc.) and was responsible for composition and arrangement. In 1959, he formed the Modern Jazz Three Association with Norio Maeda and Keitaro Miho, which contributed to the improvement of the level of composition and arrangement in Japanese jazz. In 1965, he became conductor of the Tokyo Union Orchestra and received the Japan Record Award's Arrangement Award. His name appears on more than 100 albums. An unmissable session for those seeking new sounds. Original masters licensed by Nippon Columbia for the first ever reissue. Includes OBI and insert.

A1. 津軽山唄 (Tsugaru Yama-uta)
A2. 津軽山唄 (Tsugaru Yama-uta)
A3. 竹田の子守唄 (Takeda No Komori-uta)
A4. 最上川舟唄 (Mogami-gawa Funa-uta)
A5. ホーハイ節 (Hohai-bushi)
A6. ひえつき節 (Hietsuki-bushi)
B1. 中国地方の子守唄 (Chugoku-chiho No Komori-uta)
B2. 祖谷の粉ひき唄 (Iya No Kohiki-uta)
B3. 田原坂 (Tabaruzaka)
B4. 木曽節 (Kiso-bushi)
B5. 会津磐梯山 (Aizu Bandai-san)
B6. こきりこ節 (Kokiriko-bushi)
B7. 刈干切唄 (Kariboshikiri-uta)

Current Stock:
Catalog Number:


No Reviews Write a Review