“Scacco alla Regina” (“Check to the Queen”, also known as “The Slave”) is a 1969 film directed by Pasquale Festa Campanile, a visually excellent work that mixes dramatic, sentimental and erotic ingredients for a successful portrait of the late 60s rich Italian bourgeoisie.

The soundtrack, composed and conducted by Piero Piccioni, is arguably one of the best he's ever made. Beat, jazz, lounge, psychedelia, classical music: this score offers a considerable stylistic variety, and makes often use of the precious and unmistakable voice of Edda Dell'Orso and Alessandro Alessandroni's Cantori Moderni.

The absolute excellence of this soundtrack is confirmed by the fact that it works perfectly even as a stand-alone record, detached from the movie scenes; quite surprisingly, it has never received all the attention it undoubtedly deserved.

Sky blue/white marbled vinyl edition with gatefold cover, a new artwork and audio remastered by Claudio Fuiano.

  • Pressed on Sky Blue & White Marbled Vinyl
  • Remastered by Claudio Fuiano
  • New artwork

01. Whim
02. I wait one more day
03. The redcoat
04. Dreaming of your voice
05. With or without the sun
06. Alone on vacation
07. True, every world is happy
08. Check to the queen
09. ...to the king
10. The bishop
11. Tower
12. Black plus white
13. A few moves at the end
14. Horses

Current Stock:
Catalog Number:

No Reviews Write a Review