Dragon's Domain Records, to be distributed through buysoundtrax.com, presents TURKEY SHOOT, featuring music composed by Brian May (MAD MAX, THE ROAD WARRIOR, CLOAK & DAGGER) for the 1982 science fiction horror film directed by Brian Trenchard-Smith (THE MAN FROM HONG KONG, STUNT ROCK, THE SIEGE OF FIREBASE GLORIA, SAHARA), produced by Antony I. Ginnane and William Fayman, John Daly, David Hemmings and Brian W. Cook during the boom of the Australian New Wave of cinema in the late 1970s and early 1980s from a screenplay written by Neill Hicks and Jon George, starring Steve Railsback, Olivia Hussey, Lynda Stoner and Michael Craig. Released in 1982, TURKEY SHOOT, also known as ESCAPE 2000, takes place in a dystopian future where society is falling apart. Violent riots are shredding cities to pieces. Free will is extinct and defunct and the free exchange of ideas is a mere fantasy. Those who try to resist the current government are herded into 're-education' camps and forced to literally run for their lives to be hunted by the guards and special guests for sport. If they can survive the hunt, they can return to society. Created during a period of brazen musical fearlessness in cinema, May's score for TURKEY SHOOT is an unique blend of various acoustic and electronic textures that were wildly audacious for their time. The orchestral passages were comprised of oppressively heavy marches and savagely bleating brass while his synthesized concoctions pushed the boundaries of early 1980s genre scoring.

Previously released on a very rare compact disc release, Dragon's Domain Records is excited to bring the TURKEY SHOOT back to the marketplace, newly remastered by James Nelson at Digital Outland with much improved sound. The booklet includes liner notes written by author and composer Brian Satterwhite, including the participation of director Brian Trenchard-Smith.

01. Opening Theme / Mountain Truckers
02. At The Camp / Clean The Fish / Seeds of Romance
03. Compound Music / Punishment Theme
04. Network Television / Ritter’s Symphony
05. Escape at Dinner Time / Thatcher Loads Up
06. Jungle Pursuit / Stalk in the Grass
07. Break Back Sting / Ferrier in the Fernery
08. Snake in the Mud / Waterfall Observer
09. Burning Sensation
10. Ferrier Fries
11. Fight on the Sand (3:09)
12. Love in a Jugular Vein / Breakout
13. Bombers Dive / End Credits
14. “All Deviants Assemble Immediately in Centre Compound”

Current Stock:
Catalog Number:

No Reviews Write a Review