Repressed! On the leading edge of NYC's underground music scene, Vito Ricci produced only a handful of self-released cassettes and one LP between 1983 and 1985, with most of his work recorded for experimental theater and performance art pieces. Taking their label name from Ricci's only LP, Music From Memory brings together a compilation of works by one of the unsung heroes of New York's downtown music scene. Starting out as a percussionist, Ricci's early musical journey led him to improvised and experimental jazz; working alongside such luminary musicians as Rashied Ali, Byard Lancaster, Peter Zummo, and Yousef Yancey. He quickly became involved in the avant-garde scene with spoken word performances, film scores for independent movies, and even performances with punk bands at venues such as CBGB's and the Mudd Club, and his compositions drew on all of these influences while channeling them through his experiments with synthesizers and drum computers. Drawing comparisons with New York's downtown no-wave scene, Vito's compositions blend his unique use of intricate percussion with a wide sphere of musical influences to create a world of hypnotizing ambient, meditative minimal-synth, dubbed-out electronic funk, and even left-field boogie. With most of Vito Ricci's music remaining previously unreleased, the compilation I Was Crossing A Bridge unveils Ricci's unique and visionary take on electronic music.

Side A
01. The Ship Was Sailing 01:30 
02. Hollywood 01:30 
03. Music in Forths 01:30 
04. Dub It 01:30 listen
05. Riverflow Electronic 01:30 

Side B
06. Bachelor 01:30 
07. Commie Stories (part 5) 00:56 
08. I'm At That Party Right Now 01:30 
09. Cross Court 01:30 
10. Getting There 01:30 
11. Commie Stories (part 9) 01:30 
12. Centre of the Bridge 01:30 

Side C
01. Deep Felt Music 01:30 
02. Inferno (Part 1) 01:30 

Side D
03. Inferno (Part 3) 01:30 
04. Dox E Koo (Solo Voice) 00:58 
05. Inferno (Part 2) 01:30 
06. The Bride 01:30

Current Stock:
Catalog Number:

No Reviews Write a Review