This compilation brings together, for the first time, the hottest soul/funk gems that moved the clubs and dancefloors during one of the darkest chapters of Korea’s modern history under the Yushin dictatorship. It serves as a perfect guide to proto K-pop, featuring various hits from era-defining divas, relatively less-known rare tracks, as well as two previously unreleased instrumental tracks. These tunes offer an excellent primer on how soul, funk, jazz, and disco were adapted to Korea at the time, with most of the tracks sourced from the original master tapes (6 tracks sourced from vinyl).

  • 180gram double vinyl set
  • 25 essential Korean soul/funky tracks reissue for the first time on vinyl, including 2 unreleased tracks
  • Remastered from the original master tapes by Dave Cooley (Elysian Masters)
  • Newly illustrated artwork by Aoyama Tokio & typography by Kim Sang-man (Parasite, Lady Vengeance)
  • 4-page color insert with Korean/English liner notes

Side A
01. Beauty Girls 'Shin Miryang Arirang' (1973)
02. Kim Ha-jung 'Promise' (1974)
03. Okhee Okhee 'Maybe I Like It' (1975)
04. Yoon Bok-hee 'It can't be helped' (1975)
05. Cha Do-kyun 'How are you, how are I' (1976)
06. Jungmin & Cheonggaeguri (Tree Frog) 'Memphis Underground' (Performance) (1976)
Side B
01. Light of the East feat. Janghee Lee Dongbangeui Bit (Light of the East) feat. Lee Jang-hee 'A girl is crying' (1974)
02. Mujigae Qunitet (Rainbow Quintet) 'Family Affair' (Performance) (1975)
03. Okhee 'Should not speak' (1977)
04. Yoon Soo-il & Somsatang (Cotton Candy) 'A heart fluttering' (1977)
05. Oasis Studio Sessions 'Where Are You' (Performance) (1978)
06. Hye Eun-yi 'Your Voice on the Phone' (1979)
Side C
01. Devils'Hey J '(Performance) (1976)
02. Kim Sung-ae 'one day again' (1977)
03. Kim Hye-jung 'Raining Night' (1978)
04. Yoon Si-nae 'Performedly' (1978)
05. Moon Ji-young 'Love Operation' (1979)
06. In Soon-i 'Re-Student' (1980)
07. Norman Sessions 'Open the Door' (Performance) (1980)
Side D
01. Hee Sisters 'Become a Bird' (1979)
02. Nami and the mother son Nami & Franco Romano Band 'Please Come Back' (1979)
03. Lee Eun-ha 'A heart that gives emotion' (1978)
04. Ryu Bok-sung & His Bongo Orchestra 'Alone Walking Myeongdong Road' (Performance) (1980)
05. Choi Heon 'I can be pretty like you' (1979)
06. Kim Trio 'Goodbye to you' (1980)

Current Stock:
Catalog Number:

No Reviews Write a Review