In the swirl of kaleidoscopic recordings that is Spacemen 3's discography, Taking Drugs To Make Music To Take Drugs To occupies a pivotal position – one at the nexus between their garage beginnings and expansionist future. Spacemen 3 capture the inspired spark of mid-'80s psychedelia, offering a distinct variation on high pop through layered feedback, a formidable rhythm section and shining vocals.

Taking Drugs features the legendary Northampton demos, which secured the band's first record deal with Glass. While much of this material would be expanded upon on their first two albums, Sound Of Confusion and The Perfect Prescription, many devotees consider these early 1986 demos to be the vital document of Spacemen 3 at this primal stage.

With urgent, minimally treated versions of "Sound Of Confusion" (aka "Walkin' With Jesus"), "Losing Touch With My Mind" and "Come Down Easy," this double LP collection serves to exalt the strength of Spacemen 3's songwriting over the deep-dive, sonic ruminations that would permeate their later studio efforts.

Includes download card and new insert with liner notes by Byron Coley.

01. 2.35 (Version 1)
02. Mary Anne
03. Sound Of Confusion
04. Losing Touch With My Mind
05. A-Men
06. That's Just Fine (Vocal Version)
07. Come Down Easy
08. Feel So Good
09. 2.35 (Feedback Version)
10. Hey Man
11. It's All Right
12. 2.35 (Version 2)
13. Things'll Never Be The Same
14. Transparent Radiation (Organ Version)
15. Repeater (Demo)

Current Stock:
Catalog Number:
SV 154


No Reviews Write a Review