Самцы Дронта (Samtsi Dronta, or Male of Dronts in Russian) was a shoegaze/dream pop/experimental band formed in the late '80s in Izhevsk, USSR. The first rehearsals were about noises made on detuned guitars and cheap Soviet synths while listening to cassettes of Clan Of Xymox, Cocteau Twins, Coil, Psychic TV, and Dead Can Dance in the cinema booth where worked Konstantin Bagaev (from Стук Бамбука в XI часов, another cult soviet experimental band). In 1990, Maxim Fedoseev joined the group. According to him, he was invited because he was burnt with sulfuric acid and knew how to play the Soviet song "Клен ты мой опавший" on the guitar. Afterward Anna Lebedeva joined the group. Concerts happened infrequently and the band recorded some tracks in 1992 ("Cassandra" and "Croquet") and 1993 ("Wild Child"). Also, a music video called "Сумерки" (Twilight). During early '90s various musicians joined and left the band (Vasily Agafonof, ex-member of Стук Бамбука в XI часов, and Alexandr Merzlyakov) and finally was left a duo of core members Maxim Fedoseev and Anna Lebedeva. In late '90s they disbanded. Fedoseev started other projects and Lebedeva started a media career. This is the band's first release on vinyl, remastered from the original recordings. Edition of 200. Co-released with XII Chasov records from Russia.

01. White Child
02. Wild Smile
03. Twilight
04. Cassandra
05. Illeven
06. Croquet
07. The Headless Horseman
08. White Child (Early Version)
09. Croquet (Version)

Current Stock:
Catalog Number:


No Reviews Write a Review