One Way Static Records is excited to bring you their latest release: RICK WAKEMAN’S iconic motion picture soundtrack for the 1981 slasher-classic THE BURNING. Available on both vinyl & cassette.

The Burning is loosely based on the NY urban legend of Cropsey, a tale that became popular at summer camps in the 1960s and ’70s. In the film, a summer camp caretaker who was horribly disfigured from a prank gone wrong is released from the hospital with severe deformities and seeks revenge on those he holds responsible, starting with the kids at a nearby summer camp.

Made at the height of the low-budget slasher-film craze fueled by the success of Halloween and Friday the 13th in the early 1980s, the film has become notable for being the first release from Miramax Films. The Burning is also the feature-film debut of Seinfeld’s Jason Alexander as well as future Academy Award winners Fisher Stevens and Holly Hunter. Legendary make-up artist Tom Savini, notable for his work on Dawn of the Dead, Maniac & the original Friday the 13th, created the effects for The Burning.

Theatrically released in the United States in May 1981, it has since gained a cult following and reappraisal by critics.The Burning currently holds a 100% “fresh” rating on Rotten Tomatoes.

The iconic score for the film was composed and performed by Rick Wakeman, an English composer, keyboardist, songwriter, author & actor that actually needs little introduction. He is best known for being in the progressive rock band ‘YES’ and for his solo albums released in the 1970s.

Wakeman’s early credits include playing on David Bowie’s “Space Oddity” and on songs by T.Rex, Elton John, Cat Stevens,Lou Reed & Black Sabbath (among others).

During the decades he also composed numerous soundtracks and additional music for films like ‘Creepshow 2’ (1987), ‘Crimes Of Passion’ (1984) & ‘The Phantom Of The Opera’ (1990).

Today we’re proud to bring you this well deserved, long awaited reissue…Available in the following deluxe packaged versions:

CASSETTE EDITION: limited to 250 copies worldwide with alternate artworks.

  • Soundtrack to one of the most Iconic slashers from the Eighties composed by Rick Wakeman (Yes)
  • Deluxe Limited edition color vinyl (two variants) both limited to 500 copies worldwide
  • Deluxe version comes foil stamped and numbered
  • Limited edition cassette (250 copies) with Alternate Artworks, 100 of those come as limited packaged edition

01. Theme From The Burning
02. The Chase Continues (Po's Plane)
03. Variations On The Fire
04. Shear Terror And More
05. The Burning (End Title Theme)
06. Campfire Story
07. The Fire
08. Doin' It
09. Devil's Creek Breakdown
10. The Chase
11. Shear Terror

Current Stock:
Catalog Number:

No Reviews Write a Review