Dave Henson has been producing electronic music on the fringes of any discernible scene since the late '90s, operating outside of the boundaries of good taste and slowly formulating his own very particular sound. Since 2010 he's been recording as Nochexxx, and firing the influence of vintage electro and early bleep techno through an arsenal of barely-working gear to create a sound that's as grubby as Wolf Eyes but with the unmistakable slap of late '80s Detroit. Plot Defender is Henson's third proper album under the Nochexxx moniker, and is his most developed to date, anchored by clattering tape-distorted rhythms and synth squelches that make the TB-303 sound well-mannered. Whether giving the nod to Incunabula on "Between Two Stations" or to the masters Drexciya on "Stinson Fish," Henson's vision is never anything but unique, offering a cracked-glass vision of the last few decades of electronic music and doing so with a very British nod to the camera. Anyone who fell in love with 2014's transmissions from Ekoplekz would do well to investigate. Mastered and cut by Matt Colton at Alchemy. Edition of 500 copies.

01. Clipped Butterfly 05:25 
02. Infected People 04:27 
03. The Box 01:11 
04. Between Two Stations 04:24 
05. Leading Bleeds 04:34 
06. Plot Defender 04:25 
07. Arbury Flowers 03:38 
08. Jungle Crash 04:19 
09. Last Club On Da Left 05:42 
10. Rusted Pheonix 05:33 
11. Coin Collector 04:10 
12. Stinson Fish 04:33 
13. Death Wobbles 04:07 
14. Switch Countach 05:06

Current Stock:
Catalog Number:

No Reviews Write a Review