“Disco Se Aagay”— literally “Beyond Disco”— is an unexpectedly perfect storm of two unlikely sources: the visionary sound of the British new wave seamlessly interwoven with the Pakistani musical heritage of its teenage dreamers, Nermin Niazi and Feisal Mosleh.

Recorded over the course of a summer school holiday in 1984 at the storied Zella Studios, the album was produced by the legendary Oriental Star Agencies record label in Birmingham.

Influenced by the likes of Depeche Mode and Human League as well as the luminous disco of subcontinental icons like Nazia Hasan, musical ingenues 14-year-old Nermin and her 19-year-old brother Feisal created a new wave masterpiece with an unexpected twist — Urdu-language lyrics and Hindustani melodic scales.

Discostan Records is a Los Angeles-based record label, performance space and archival project. For more than a decade, the collective has celebrated the music and cultural traditions of the Arabic world, Subcontinent and Iran and beyond — from Beirut to Bangkok via Bombay.

Released in partnership with the artists, the remastered album has been pressed on a limited vinyl run for a new generation of listeners. Each album comes with a download code.

  • Debut release on the label of Los Angeles-based collective Discostan
  • First-ever reissue of lost Urdu new wave gem from 1984
  • Liner notes feature photos from the artists’ personal archives
  • Fully remastered by Michael Graves of Osiris Studios
  • Vinyl pressed at RTI

01. Dekha Jab Se Dekha
02. Nazneen
03. Dil Mein Dil Mein
04. Hum Tum
05. Chala Hai Akela
06. Sari Sari Raat
07. Nainan
08. Taron Bhara
09. Intezar
10. Sari Sari Raat (Remix)

Current Stock:
Catalog Number:


No Reviews Write a Review