‘Symmetri’ is Metavari’s sophomore studio release led by electronic musician and composer, Nathaniel David Utesch, and debut studio LP on One Way Static Records. The work is a stand-alone edit of Metavari’s ‘Metropolis’ re-score from Record Store Day 2017; introducing new and reconfigured material in addition to selections from the soundtrack.

Metavari is the stage name of Indiana-based electronic musician Nathaniel David Utesch and is best described as the intersection of nostalgic electronics, ambient soundscapes and off-kilter synth pop music. Since 2008, Metavari have toured extensively in the US; sharing the stage with notable acts such as This Will Destroy You, Maserati, Tortoise, Titus Andronicus, Anamanaguchi, The Appleseed Cast & Small Black.

Written and produced over the course of 20 months, the lengthy writing time stretched across a whirlwind season surrounding the miscarriage of Nathaniel and his wife’s first pregnancy and coincidentally ended just after the success of their second. Nathaniel said of the writing, “The record was drenched in an incredibly dark season of our life and yet concluded at nearly the opposite. I quite literally finished the record with my newborn son in my arms.” While much of ‘Symmetri’ was written as a re-scoring of Fritz Lang’s ‘Metropolis,’ it’s still almost impossible not to hear the disparate tug and pull from Nathaniel’s personal experiences during the time of the recordings.

The LP comes packaged in a deluxe jacket with a custom die cut center hole & includes a digital download containing a bonus track from Metavari and remixes from Sarah Davachi, Diamondstein, Antoni Maiovvi, Makeup and Vanity Set, Taragana Pyjarama, and Umberto. The record also features guest vocals from Daniel Weyandt, singer of the seminal hardcore metal band, Zao. Available as a limited classic black vinyl edition (limited to 500 copies) & as a color vinyl variant (limited to 300 copies milky clear and indigo blue vinyl).

  • The much anticipated follow up to Metavari’s re-score for ‘Metropolis’
  • Deluxe vinyl edition with custom die-cut center hole on jacket
  • Color vinyl variant (300 units) available from Light In The Attic
  • Comes with download card to acces exclusive digital content
  • Featuring remixes from Sarah Davachi, Diamondstein, Antoni Maiovvi, Makeup and Vanity Set, Taragana Pyjarama & Umberto

01. Assemblé en Miroir I
02. Messages
03. Futura
04. Unterirdisch
05. Byrani Rom Ascii
06. Indigo
07. Moloch!
08. Assemblé en Miroir II
09. Babel
10. Hymns
11. Trouble
12. Tetraheathen
13. Eternal Return, pt.1
14. Witchhunt (feat. Daniel Weyandt)
15. Assemblé en Miroir III
16. Tetraheathen (Sarah Davachi Remix) [Bonus Track]
17. Messages (Umberto Remix) [Bonus Track]
18. Babel (Taragana Pyjarama's Scales Remix) [Bonus Track]
19. Byrani Rom Ascii (Antoni Maiovvi's Dream Within a Dream of the Winged Pig Mix) [Bonus Track]
20. Tetraheathen (Diamondstein Remix) [Bonus Track]
21. Witchhunt (Makeup and Vanity Set Remix) [Bonus Track]
22. Assemblé en Miroir IV [Bonus Track]

Current Stock:
Catalog Number:

No Reviews Write a Review