A lost paradise, a lost innocence, and a lost culture; these are the dominant themes presented in Nicolas Roeg’s 1971 masterpiece Walkabout, a survival story of two children lost in the scorched Australian wilderness. Together with other seminal Australian surrealistic outback films, (e.g. Wake In Fright) Walkabout was a film that reshaped the Australian film industry and defined the country’s New Wave. On the cusp of the film’s 45t h anniversary it is pertinent to observe that for decades the film’s original soundtrack has also been considered lost. Composed and conducted by the acclaimed British film composer John Barry, the score is a hallucinogenic mix of exotic romanticism, children’s nursery rhyme and potent psychedelic experimentation. For decades, the consensus among soundtrack circles was that the master tapes were officially missing with little chance that the music would ever see a legitimate release, but The Roundtable is pleased to announce that this is no longer the case. The complete soundtrack to one of cinema history’s most visually spellbinding films has now finally been re-discovered, sourced from the original stereo master tapes and prepared to the guidelines of the original ill-fated 1970s LP release. The Walkabout soundtrack is released in conjunction with the lost film music to Peter Weir’s 1977 existential eco-horror The Last Wave, composed by Charles Wain.

  • The premiere soundtrack release to Nicolas Roeg’s 1971 New Wave Masterpiece
  • Lost hallucinogenic score from acclaimed film composer John Barry
  • 12-track LP sourced from the original stereo master tapes
  • 180g vinyl and deluxe packaging including archival film stills and original press material

01. Walkabout
02. The Children
03. Stranded
04. Survival Test
05. Electronic Dance
06. The Journey
07. The Three Of Us
08. Together At Sunset
09. Los Angeles
10. Night In The Outback
11. Professional Crumble
12. Back To Nature

Current Stock:
Catalog Number:

No Reviews Write a Review