We Release Jazz present the official reissue of Eric Demarsan's original soundtrack of Jean-Pierre Melville's 1970 film noir classic Le Cercle Rouge. The film stars Alain Delon, Bourvil, Gian Maria Volontè, and Yves Montand. This reissue includes four bonus tracks, not available on previous pressings of the album, Eric Demarsan's compositions for Le Cercle Rouge draw from the orchestral spirit of the Modern Jazz Quartet (as requested by Melville who loved John Lewis's work), abstraction, and minimalism to create a suspenseful and hypnotizing audio landscape which elegantly underlines the tense atmosphere of unavoidable fate that shrouds the movie and the doleful beauty of its characters. Simply put, it's the finest combination of underworld existentialism, coldblooded chic, and crime jazz. Le Cercle Rouge boasts the participation of celebrated jazz players Guy Pedersen (bass), Daniel Humair (drums), Georges Arvanitas (piano), and Bernard Lubat (vibraphone). Starting as a collaborator of François de Roubaix and Michel Magne in the '60s, Eric Demarsan went on to become a mainstay of French cinema soundtracks, composing for directors such as Jean-Pierre Mocky, Costa-Gavras, and Patrice Leconte, among others. He also recorded the cult album Pop Symphony (for Pierre Cardin in 1970) under the Jason Havelock pseudonym. Includes four bonus tracks. Mastered at half speed. 180 gram vinyl; Stoughton tip-on sleeve; Obi with gold sticker.

A1. Le Cercle Rouge
A2. Corey Revient Chez Lui
A3. Final Inédit Version 2
A4. Sur Les Toits
A5. Corey Et Mattei
A6. Vogel S'enfuit
A7. Quand Les Hommes Ont Rendez-Vous
A8. Razzia Chez Boucheron
A9. Barrage Policier*
A10. Les Habitants Du Placard
B1. Avenue Paul-Doumer*
B2. Avant Le Casse Version 1
B3. Un Indicateur Scrupuleux
B4. Corey Et Vogel
B5. Melvillade
B6. Avant Le Casse Version 2*
B7. De La Prison Au Train*
B8. Le Voyage De Corey
B9. Cercle Désincarné

*First time on vinyl.

Current Stock:
Catalog Number:

No Reviews Write a Review