WRWTFWW Records present the official reissue of super-rare and fabled prog-rock/library/synth album L'Univers De La Mer by French composer Dominique Guiot. Written, composed and played by Dominique Guiot with his Mellotron, Minimoog, clavinet, organ, and guitar, L'Univers De La Mer draws its inspiration from deep sea exploration, oceanic creatures, and underwater kingdoms. The 12-track album navigates organically through diverse mutations of the prog-rock and synth kind, from scenic meditation pieces ("Wind Surf Ballad"), to medieval electronica ("Une Ballade Pour Une Goélette"), spacey smooth jazz ("Les Deux Poissons"), funked-out fantasy folk ("L'Univers De La Mer"), or even incredible Sega Mega-CD vibes ("La Danse Des Méduses") -- altogether painting a fascinating world of eerie magic and subaquatic sensuality. It's escapism at its best with subtle overtones of Schicke Führs Fröhling, Mike Oldfield, and Claude Perraudin. The sound of the album is brilliantly captured by its surreal cover art, the work of legendary artist Jacques Wyrs, whose memorable record sleeves include Klaus Schulze's Picture Music (1975), Eloy's Floating (1974), Ange's Le Cimetière Des Arlequins (1973), and the 1974 reissue of Larry Coryell's Spaces. Sourced from original masters. CD version marks the first CD release of the album. LP version comes in 350gsm sleeve; 140 gram vinyl; available on vinyl LP for the first time since 1978.

01. Wind Surf Ballad (2:20)
02. La Danse Des Méduses (2:40)
03. Une Ballade Pour Une Goélette (1:30)
04. Les Deux Poissons (3:00)
05. Ballet Amoureux Des Dauphins (2:20)
06. Les Pingouins S'Amusent (2:40)
07. Destination Inconnue (3:25)
08. Iceberg En Voyage (3:30)
09. L'Univers De La Mer (3:20)
10. Alerte En Mer (2:50)
11. Les Émigrants De La Mer (3:35)
12. À La Découverte D'Une Amphore (2:30)

Current Stock:
Catalog Number:


No Reviews Write a Review