For the first time on vinyl, the soundtrack of director Park Chan-Wook’s 2009 film Thirst has been reissued. Though it wears the facade of a bizarre horror drama, the film itself delves into the foundations of religion, the human act of self-reckoning, and the dilemma between survival and morality faced by a man of the cloth when driven to the brink. The soundtrack was directed by Cho Young-Wuk, a long-time artistic partner of Park Chan-Wook starting from JSA and Oldboy to Sympathy for Lady Vengeance. The tracks feature original score composed based on Bach’s cantatas, as well as old Korean gayo from the 1930~50s. Cho’s team continue to uphold their meticulous musicianship in the compositions and arrangements, while the (seemingly out-of-place) gayo pieces come together with the main score to imbue the film with its bizarre atmosphere.

  • Record Store Day 2019 Exclusive Release
  • First time on vinyl
  • Housed in a gatefold jacket with extensive liner-notes by Charlie Brigden
  • Newly designed artwork
  • 150 gram vinyl

01. Thirst Cantata
02. Africa
03. Sang-hyun's Prayer
04. Resurrection
05. Just One Sip
06. Lust
07. Bach On Radio
08. Wave of Nostalgia
09. Under a streetlight
10. Sang-hyun
11. Crying at Harbour
12. The Wrong Encounter
13. Gloomy Street
14. On Sundays
15. A Cute Vampire
16. Murder at the Lakeshore
17. Mom, please forgive me
18. I'm nothing
19. A Guilty Conscience
20. Kang-woo Comes Back
21. I want to go to my husband
22. Happy Birthday
23. Tae-ju
24. Mrs. Ra
25. Thirst Cantata with Strings
26. Wave of Nostalgia
27. Sang-hyun's Prayer

Current Stock:
Catalog Number:


No Reviews Write a Review