Spun Out Of Control is both proud & excited to present the first tape release from fast rising LA-based composer and musician Bryce Miller. Limited to 100 hand-numbered copies worldwide, ‘W A S P’ comprises 12 multi-layered, constantly surprising and moodily evocative tracks for synthesizer and piano, inspired by the Millennium Trilogy of books from acclaimed author Stieg Larsson (The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, The Girl Who Played with Fire & The Girl Who Kicked the Hornets’ Nest). This is, in effect, the soundtrack to those novels.

Once again featuring stunningly appropriate J-card design by Eric Adrian Lee (DeathWaltz/Mondo, Giallo Disco & Wil-Ru Records), Bryce Miller’s W A S P is presented as a mustard-coloured cassette shell with wasp-ish black ink pad printing… thereby evoking the stripe-y critter with a sting in its tail; a description befitting many of the featured tracks. Film score fans, as well as those of superior synth work, are sure to find many new favourites here.

Composer Bryce Miller on ‘W A S P’:

“Author Stieg Larsson’s characters Lisbeth Salander and Mikael Blomkvist from the Millennium Trilogy are incredibly complex and haunting characters, faced with conflicts both internal and external. With this album I sought to write music for both their characters, as well as the stark frigid climate of Sweden, where the stories take place. The music sounds cold and claustrophobic at times, with icy pads and brooding drones, but is tied together by fragile emotional melodies that float above the dense layers of synth textures. I personally find that listening to music whilst reading elevates the story and its world.”

01. The 1991 Repot
02. Sodermalm
03. WASP
04. Respect and Trust
05. 74774 [Idiotic_Table]
06. Everyone Has Secrets
07. Millennium
08. Blomkvist
09. All the Evil
10. No Compromises
11. Just Company
12. Exposed Secrets (Bonus Track)


Current Stock:
Catalog Number:

No Reviews Write a Review