The follow up to Light In The Attic’s game-changing I Am The Center box set is finally here. The Microcosm: Visionary Music Of Continental Europe, 1970-1986 is the first major overview of key works from cosmically-taped in artists needing little introduction — Vangelis, Ash Ra Tempel, and Popol Vuh — and unknown masterpieces by criminally overlooked heroes like Bernard Xolotl, Robert Julian Horky and Enno Velthuys.

Whereas I Am The Center called for a reconsideration of an entire maligned genre, The Microcosm requests nothing more than an open mind to consider this ambient, new age, neuzeit, prog, krautrock, cosmic, holistic stuff, whatever one calls it — as a pulsating movement unto itself, a mirror refracting the American new age scene in unexpected, electrifying ways, proving beyond a shadow of a doubt the universality of the timeless quest to express “the Ineffable” through music.

Drawing from major label budgets and homemade cassette distributed circumstances alike, The Microcosm demonstrates a depth of peace profound to behold, and clearly expands the boundaries. Lovingly conceived and lavishly presented by producer Douglas Mcgowan (Yoga Records) and liner notes contributor Jason Patrick Woodbury (Pitchfork, Aquarium Drunkard), The Microcosm features stunning cover paintings by Étienne Trouvelot, and labels by Finnish savant Aleksanda Ionowa.

  • In depth liner notes by Douglas Mcgowan and Jason Patrick Woodbury
  • Extraordinary cover art by astronomer / entomologist Étienne Trouvelot
  • Remastered audio, including a previously unreleased track and several others previously cassette only
  • 3xLP with deluxe Stoughton “tip-on” jackets and slipcase
  • "Introspective Indigo” color wax limited to 500 copies

01. Vangelis - Creation Du Monde
02. Ralph Lundsten - Bön 5 - Förlåt Oss Vâra Skulder (Prayer 5 - Forgive Us Our Debts)
03. Ash Ra Tempel - Le Sourire Volé
04. Popol Vuh - Brüder des Schattens - Söhne des Lichts (abridged)
05. Ariel Kalma - Orguitar Soir
06. Bernard Xolotl - Cometary Wailing (Valley Plateau)
07. Peter Michael Hamel - Einklang
08. Francesco Messina - Untitled
09. Roedelius - Wenn der Südwind Weht
10. Deutsche Wertarbeit - Der Grosse Atem
11. Robert Julian Horky - Dance For A Warrior
12. Karl Schaffner & Lothar Grimm - Caravan
13. Suzanne Doucet & Christian Buehner - Shivas Dance
14. Enno Velthuys - Morning Glory
15. Deuter - Spirales
16. Gigi Masin - Ship Beetel

Current Stock:
Catalog Number: LITA 143

No Reviews Write a Review